Released: 29 March 2019

Reference: AP202

Buy this album


Recorded by Little Tribeca at the Hôtel de l’Industrie (Paris) on november 10th, 2018
Artistic direction, sound engineering, editing and mastering: Maximilien Ciup

Anonymous harpischord (end of the seventeenth century) reshaped by par Rinaldo de Bertonis in 1736
Tuning: Carey Beebe and Patrick Yègre


***** Classica5 Diapason

Released: 29 March 2019

Reference: AP202

Frescobaldi: Harpsichord works




Frescobaldi brilliantly combines improvisation and architecture. These qualities resonate with the discography of harpsichordist Christophe Rousset, whose choice of repertoire and interpretation are adventurous and serious at the same time. Frescobaldi’s counterpoint goes along with the finest art of singing, inherited from the Italian madrigal, and the flexibility of his language highlights the virtuosity of his compositions.

Christophe Rousset recorded toccate and partite on a beautiful and original harpsichord of the late 16th century. Its sound faithfully testifies for the significant place of this First Book of harpsichord pieces in the nascent modernity of Frescobaldi. If the modal harmonies are still old-fashioned, the free beat and subtle melodies make it an indisputable baroque master, admired from Italy to France and Germany: Bach is said to have had a copy of his Fiori musicali!

This new disc by Christophe Rousset reveals the first treasures composed specifically for the harpsichord. Its repertoire was served from the beginning by musicians whose expressive boldness recalls in a musical way Caravaggio’s chiaroscuro.


In the press

A celebration of intricate grace.
Performance ***** - Recording ***** BBC Music Magazine


Toccate e partite d’intavolatura di cimbalo, libro primo, 1615
(expanded version – 1637)

1. Toccata prima
2. Cento partite sopra passacagli
3. Toccata nona
4. Partite sopra l’aria della Romanesca
5. Toccata ottava
6. Partite sopra l’aria di Monica
7. Toccata decima
8. Balletto terzo, corrente e passacagli
9. Toccata terza
10. Partite sopra l’aria di Follia
11. Toccata sesta
12. Quatro correnti
13. Toccata settima
14. Balletto e ciaccona

Related albums