Released: 27 April 2018

Reference: AP177

Buy this album


Recorded by Little Tribeca in the Galerie dorée of the Banque de France in February and October 2017.
Artistic direction, sound engineering, editing and mastering: Ignace Hauville


Clef ResMusica

Released: 27 April 2018

Reference: AP177

Gounod: Intégrale des quatuors à cordes




On the occasion of the bi-centenary of Charles Gounod’s birth, this first complete string quartet (including two unpublished ones) on period instruments reveals an unknown part of his production, dominated by vocal music. Composer of the very end of the 19th century, Gounod and his five quartets are the worthy heir of the Viennese classicism tradition. The lyrical accents of the Quartet in G minor or the airy lightness of the Scherzo of the Petit Quatuor evoke nothing less than the names of Schubert and Mendelssohn. The musicians of the Quatuor Cambini-Paris (Julien Chauvin, Karine Crocquenoy, Pierre-Éric Nimylowycz and Atsushi Sakaï) gracefully reproduce these pages, full of gravity and sweetness.


In the press

Un splendide enregistrement sur instruments d’époque.
Concert Classic

Une lecture enthousiaste et brillante


Quartet in G minor, CG.565
1. Allegro non troppo ma energico
2. Adagio
3. Scherzo
4. Allegro

Quartet in F major, CG.563
5. Largo – Allegro moderato
6. Scherzo
7. Andante quasi adagio
8. Scherzo
9. Allegretto

Quartet in A minor, CG.564
10. Allegro
11. Allegretto quasi moderato
12. Scherzo
13. Finale : Allegretto

« Petit Quatuor » in C major, CG.561
14. Adagio – Allegro moderato
15. Andante con moto
16. Scherzo : Presto
17. Finale : Allegro vivace

Quartet in A major, CG.562
18. Allegro moderato
19. Allegretto
20. Minuetto : Allegro
21. Allegro moderato


Related albums