Released: 28 September 2018

Reference: AP184

Buy this album


Produced by Robert Sadin
Arranged by Robert Sadin and Lionel Loueke
Recorded by Clark Germain and Little Tribeca at Les Studios Saint Germain (Paris), January 2018
Mixed by Dave Darlington and Robert Sadin
Special Production Assistance: Daniel Barnidge
Production Coordination: Sophie Quin
Editorial Coordination: Elsa Siffert
Label Manager: Olivier Lalane
Executive producer: Nicolas Bartholomée

All songs © Lionel Loueke | Moesha Music (BMI)


fff Télérama

Released: 28 September 2018

Reference: AP184

The Journey


  • Lionel Loueke
  • Pino Palladino
  • Cyro Baptista
  • John Ellis
  • Vincent Ségal
  • Patrick Messina
  • Mark Feldman
  • Massimo Biolcati
  • Ferenc Nemeth
  • Étienne Charles
  • Dramane Dembélé
  • Christi Joza Orisha
  • Robert Sadin


A shooting star of the international jazz scene, a genius guitarist demanded by the greatest (Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Sting, Chick Corea), Lionel Loueke is an extraordinary artist. His unique musical personality blends genres and influences, from traditional African rhythms to western jazz. In The Journey, his first solo album for the label Aparté, he sings, vocalises, clicks his tongue, slaps his guitar strings, draws from funk, reaches out for the most unexpected harmonics and unfolds an incredible palette of sounds, like a one-man orchestra. Surrounded by impressive guests from all horizons (Pino Palladino, Patrick Messina, Vincent Ségal, Mark Feldman, Cyro Baptista...) under the direction of maestro Robert Sadin, multiple Grammy Award winner, Loueke delivers here his most personal record. From hopeful ballads (Molika, Kába) to irresistible rhythms (Gbê, Dark Lightning), this journey has an invigorating perfume of freedom.



In the press

Ce nouvel album est un jaillissement de petits bonheurs intimistes et subtils. L'ensemble est lumineux, et d'une grande élégance.
Anne Berthod - Télérama

One of the most consistently engaging albums to cross this desk in quite some time. Highly recommended.
Robert Bush - New York City Jazz record


The Journey

1. Bouriyan
2. Molika
3. Bawo
4. Vi Gnin
5. Mandé
6. Kába
7. Dark Lightning
8. Vivi
9. Hope
10. Gbê
11. Gbêdetemin
12. Guira
13. Okagbé
14. Reflections on Vi Gnin
15. The Healing

Related albums