Schubert: String Quartet no.14 ‘Death and the Maiden’, String Quartet no.15


Schubert’s last two quartets, composed during the final years of his life, reveal the impressive mastery he achieved, despite the knowledge that he was dying. The four movements of the “Death and the Maiden” quartet, all in minor keys, and the tumultuous, quasi-orchestral fifteenth Quartet, an important stage on “the way to the grand symphony”, bear witness to the composer’s struggle against illness and death. The Aviv Quartet has spent many years working on these two works, polishing and maturing its interpretation, to finally come to this brilliant, intense and masterly performance.

SKU: AP266 Category:


String Quartet no.15 in G major D.887
1. I. Allegro molto moderato
2. II. Andante un poco moto
3. III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace – Trio. Allegretto
4. IV. Allegro assai

String Quartet no.14 in D minor ‘Death and the Maiden’ D.810
1. I. Allegro
2. II. Andante con moto
3. III. Scherzo. Allegro molto – Trio
4. IV. Presto